Memes/ Reviews

The Ultimate Coffee Date February

It’s the first Saturday of the month which means it’s ultimate coffee date day! So curl up in a cozy chair and get comfy while we talk.  Here’s a virtual OneCoffee for you (organic, fairtrade and 90% biodegradeable packaging):

OneCoffee - organic, biodegradeable and fair trade

If we were having coffee…
I would tell you that life has been very busy lately and fitting in fitness is difficult.  Work is busy, and my home life is busy.  Hubby has taken on a new assignment that requires him to travel often while I juggle work, the kids, their sports and their homework.  Remember my “Day in my life…” post?  Yeah, so I’m basically doing all that on my own.  

If we were having coffee…
I would tell you that I threw my back out on Monday making fitness this week impossible.  I have a hyper mobile SI joint and I bent over (at the waist) and picked up a piece of paper Monday afternoon and twisted to the side as I came up.  My lower half is shifted to the left and is not directly underneath me.  It’s the weirdest thing.  My hips are ok, my back is ok, but my back muscles get incredibly sore and tired trying to hold me up if I stand too long.  

IMG_8887.JPG

If we were having coffee…
I would tell you that bending myself in half actually feels ok.  I glanced at my lonely road bike sitting on the trainer in my room and thought to myself…. Hmmm sitting in aero position has me bent in half, maybe cycling won’t bother my back? Lo and behold! It felt fine!  So it looks like my bike and I will become good friends until my Chiro can straighten me out.  

READ:  If we were having coffee... August 2017 edition

wpid-20150207_101929.jpg

(I love how my aero bars hold my ipad perfectly).

If we were having coffee…
I would tell you that these are minor set backs compared to what many people go through everyday and that I’m grateful for all that I have.  

The Ultimate Coffee Date

What would you tell me if we were having coffee?

Newsletter

You Might Also Like

  • Deborah @ Confessions of a Mother Runner
    February 7, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    Oh wow didn’t realize your back was so bad. That’s totally crazy that you got on the bike anyway. Hope you are feeling better soon. I ordered that book after reading your review. So far so good. Thanks for linking up with us today for coffee!

    • Janice
      February 8, 2015 at 12:17 pm

      No problem! Let me know what you think of the book – for me it’s inspiring me to lift more.

  • Lara @ Uptite Mamas
    February 7, 2015 at 5:28 pm

    Oh man! Nothing like hurting your back just by picking up a piece of paper! I’m glad you discovered that your bike would not bring you pain. That must be a relief!!! I hope it’s a speedy recovery for you!

    • Janice
      February 8, 2015 at 12:16 pm

      Thank you Lara!

  • Kim
    February 7, 2015 at 8:10 pm

    So sorry about your back – I think that back pain is the worst because usually everything hurts it!! Glad you realized that you could ride OK!!!

    • Janice
      February 8, 2015 at 12:16 pm

      Thanks Kim!

  • Alyssa
    February 7, 2015 at 9:49 pm

    So bummed to hear about your back! I have lots of back injury issues too and I know how frustrating being sidelined can be! Way to get on your bike!

    • Janice
      February 8, 2015 at 12:15 pm

      Thanks Alyssa!

  • MCM Mama
    February 7, 2015 at 9:55 pm

    I’m not sure I could single parent and not exercise. Glad the bike is a solution for you. Hope your back is fixed soon!

    • Janice
      February 8, 2015 at 12:14 pm

      I gotta admit last week was really rough and that there was far too much yelling. I can’t believe how much being active helps me!

  • Mary Beth Jackson
    February 8, 2015 at 7:58 am

    I twisted my back once making the bed! It is the little things that get us! I hope you feel better!

    • Janice
      February 8, 2015 at 12:13 pm

      How long did it take for your back to heal?

  • Larissa
    February 8, 2015 at 12:12 pm

    Oh man I’d tell you how mysterious foot pain has kept me inactive too! We could commiserate together. The silver lining is that I’ve had a week of extra sleep. I like to take a week or so off my workouts every once in a while anyway, so I guess this is ok. Plus I’m on a sugar detox this month. At least I won’t be drinking a sweet latte on our coffee date.

    • Janice
      February 8, 2015 at 12:13 pm

      Hugs! I hope your foot heals soon!

  • Stacy @ Sweating Tulipz
    February 8, 2015 at 11:32 pm

    Awww…that sounds crazy painful! I hope you get re-aligned ASAP! I don’t know how you mom’s do it! I struggle some days and the only children that I have are four-legged with tails! I am afraid for my fitness levels when and if I do have little ones! If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I got a new computer and am super frustrated with it right now! I hope you feel better soon, and I hope you have a great week!