Giveaways and Contests/ Health Tips/ Motivation/ Nutrition Tips/ Reviews/ Running/ Sponsored/ Things I'm Loving

Multi-Grain Cheerios + Ancient Grains Cereal Review and Fitness #Giveaway

Multi-Grain Cheerios +Ancient Grains

Yum yum! Fuel for my run!

So I’ve recently begun getting up super early to fit my running in before work, but one of my big problems with that is fuelling for my run.  As soon as I wake up I’m hungry. STARVING!!  I cannot function, nevermind run without some food in tummy.  When I was running on my lunch breaks fuelling before a run was no problem – I’d have a protein shake before work, then an apple 30 min before my noon hour run.  Unfortunately with me now waking up at 5:30 to run, firing up the blender to make my shake isn’t an option because it’ll wake the entire house.  I need something quick, filling, tasty and nutritious before I start churning out those morning k’s.  

 

NEW! Multi-Grain Cheerios + Ancient Grains Cereal

Thankfully I’ve found the answer to my breakfast/pre-run fuelling problems: Multi-Grain Cheerios + Ancient Grains Cereal.  These have a really nice cinnamon and spice flavour to them, so I don’t have to add any sugar to them.  Some “adult” cereals taste like cardboard, but not these – these are delicious… and healthy!  

I’ve fuelled up before my morning runs with these new Cheerios for the past week and have found that they are filling enough to tame the lion in my tummy without leaving me with a heavy feeling.  I don’t feel sluggish or too full.  I’ve fuelled an 8k, a 10k and a 15k run with these and I’ve found them to be absolutely perfect for me.  The bonus part is that they really taste great!  (So good that my oldest daughter Sierra had already snuck two bowls out of my box before I went to try them).  

The new cereal includes the classic Multi-Grain Cheerios you love with the added natural goodness of lightly puffed and toasted kamut, spelt and corn, and is sweetened with just a hint of cinnamon and spice.

Here’s a closer look:

Seriously delicious!

What is Kamut & Spelt?

 Ancient Grain – Kamut:

Kamut is an ancient type of wheat related to the durum variety used in modern bread making. Kamut is richer in protein, minerals such as magnesium and zinc, Vitamin B’s and Vitamin E and unsaturated fatty acids. It is easy to digest and is generally well tolerated by those with a sensitivity to gluten.

Ancient Grain – Spelt:

Spelt is high in vitamin B2, niacin, manganese, thiamin,  copper, and magnesium. Because spelt is highly water soluble, these nutrients are easily absorbed by the body. In addition to being loaded with essential nutrients, Spelt is a good source of dietary fiber, which has been shown to lower total and LDL cholesterol levels. 

The next time you find yourself  looking for a cereal that the family will love,
consider picking up a box of Multi-Grain Cheerios + Ancient Grains Cereal!

You can’t go wrong with:

  • 2 ancient grains (KAMUT® wheat6 and spelt)
  • 5 whole grains (corn, wheat, oats, barley and brown rice)
  • 3 grams of fibre per serving
  • 170 calories per serving when enjoyed with ½ cup of 2% milk

The Giveaway!

One of my lucky Canadian readers will win this awesome prize pack (approximate retail value $170)!

 

The lucky winner will receive:

  • Lululemon Yoga Mat
  • Lululemon Yoga Block
  • Nutribullet
  • 3 boxes Multi-Grain Cheerios + Ancient Grain Cereal!

(Canada Only)

 

 

 

Good luck!

Question/Sharing: How do you fuel before your morning workout?

Disclaimer: I was sent a box of Multi-Grain Cheerios + Ancient Grain Cereal for review.  As always, opinions expressed are 100% honest and my own. 

Newsletter

You Might Also Like

  • diane
    June 29, 2014 at 10:47 pm

    Either 1 or 2 eggs with cheese or a protein shake.

  • Jenny @ simply be me
    June 30, 2014 at 1:14 am

    This morning it was a peanut butter GU and a box of apple juice. When I have more time I opt for oatmeal.

  • Wildly Morgan
    June 30, 2014 at 9:15 am

    I do love multi grain cheerios so this new kind sounds pretty good to me!

  • Kirsty
    June 30, 2014 at 9:16 am

    Smoothies are my go-to pre-morning run fuel. I like Vega One a lot, but will also make my own with unsweetened almond milk, avocado, greens, berries, chia seeds and stevia. Delish!

  • Jen @ Pretty Little Grub
    June 30, 2014 at 9:24 am

    I used to eat cereal every single morning. Lately I’m more of a toast person before a run but these new cheerios sound yummy! Also, love to see a contest for canadians only, it’s time we get some love too! ha ha

  • Jess@Flying Feet in Faith
    June 30, 2014 at 10:28 am

    I wish I was in Canada!! Boohoo but I’m a cereal or mini bagel pre run eater bu really like Cheerios so this new cereal intrigues me. Thanks for sharing!

  • Natasha Dowd
    June 30, 2014 at 1:13 pm

    I usually fuel with overnight oats (oats, almond milk, cinnamon and raisins) and half a banana.

  • suzi
    June 30, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    Fruit and sometimes cereal (including Cheerios) while other times it’s eggs and toast!

  • michelle tremblett
    June 30, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    I always start with a hearty healthy breakfast and a smoothie, I need a great breakfast to keep me going and the kids are big breakfast eaters as well. extra grain, extra fruit and veg 🙂

  • Cathy
    July 1, 2014 at 10:43 am

    my usual is eggs when i have time, or when i’m rushed, I usually whip up a smoothie and take it to go on the way to the gym.

  • stacey h
    July 1, 2014 at 11:25 am

    usually just a banana, sometimes i add a cup of coffee too

  • Glogirl
    July 1, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    I like to eat foods high in protein like Greek yogourt and cottage cheese.

  • Bev
    July 1, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    My morning pre-workout meal includes whole wheat toast with sliced banana and cinnamon!

  • sarah sar
    July 1, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    I make sure to load up on lots of protein!

  • Karine
    July 1, 2014 at 10:25 pm

    I eat a good breakfast that makes me feel full 🙂

  • Belinda McNabb
    July 1, 2014 at 10:28 pm

    I have been eating special k cereal in the mornings before I start my day

  • Karla Sceviour
    July 1, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    I fuel by eatng a good breakie!

  • Doris H
    July 1, 2014 at 11:59 pm

    I usually start my day with cereal.

  • Amy C
    July 2, 2014 at 1:08 am

    I like to have orange juice, cheerios and a muffin.

  • Amy Heffernan
    July 2, 2014 at 1:12 pm

    Fruit smoothies are great before a work out!

  • Tammy Dalley
    July 2, 2014 at 2:12 pm

    a good night’s sleep and a great breakfast

  • Lori Jackson
    July 2, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    Usually Raisin Bran or a fruit and veggie packed smoothie.

  • Lucy
    July 2, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    Sometimes I have kefir with frozen blueberries and walnuts/pecans, other times I have eggs and toast

  • Florence C
    July 2, 2014 at 8:10 pm

    I start my day with a healthy breakfast which includes grains.

  • lisa bolduc
    July 2, 2014 at 8:35 pm

    a cup of coffee, a glass of water and a healthy breakfast

  • Andrea Amy
    July 3, 2014 at 1:24 am

    No, no morning workout. I have 5 kids, I can barely keep up with them let alone working out. I normally start my morning with coffee and oatmeal 🙂

  • Catharine
    July 3, 2014 at 1:56 am

    I usually start with some cold cereal or oatmeal to get me going. OJ on the side.

  • heidi c.
    July 3, 2014 at 2:47 am

    I usually go with a protein smoothie or oatmeal and fruit.

  • Brenda Penton
    July 3, 2014 at 4:53 am

    I usually fuel my morning with a whey protein shake with fruit added in.

  • CathyC
    July 3, 2014 at 3:02 pm

    I find it difficult to eat much in the morning, especially if I’m going to be working out shortly afterwards. I do love my toast and peanut butter though! Sometime I just opt for a banana and glass of milk.

  • Kristine Ewald
    July 3, 2014 at 7:42 pm

    I do berry shakes with protein powder. 🙂

  • Jonnie
    July 3, 2014 at 10:02 pm

    I fuel with oatmeal before a morning workout

  • tanyab79
    July 3, 2014 at 11:38 pm

    With a green smoothie

  • Cassey C
    July 4, 2014 at 2:38 am

    I eat breakfast that includes cereal and milk.

  • BlessedTA
    July 4, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    With chocolate milk

  • Megan F.
    July 4, 2014 at 7:47 pm

    A smoothie w/ protein! So yummy!!

  • Darwin
    July 4, 2014 at 8:20 pm

    I usually fuel up with a power smoothie before a morning work out or run.

  • Nicole
    July 4, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    Usually with a breakfast smoothie.

  • Maggie K.
    July 4, 2014 at 11:22 pm

    It depends on my mood. Toast with peanut butter and banana or cereal and milk. These Cheerios look awesome!

  • Eldon
    July 4, 2014 at 11:44 pm

    I eat a good breakfast!

  • Sophia
    July 5, 2014 at 12:53 am

    I have a glass of warm water with fresh lemon juice and yogurt.

  • Wayne Lecoy
    July 5, 2014 at 7:13 am

    I am entering your giveaway.
    It would be great to win
    a Multi-Grain Cheerios + Ancient Grain Cereal prize pack.
    In response to your question of
    How do you fuel before your morning workout??
    I drink a smoothie and have a light breakfast.
    Thank you for having this giveaway!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Jennifer R
    July 5, 2014 at 10:14 am

    I usually have 2 eggs with spinach, a protein bar or a protein shake.

  • angela m
    July 5, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    I usually have toast , yogurt and orange juice

  • Tina L.
    July 5, 2014 at 12:42 pm

    I usually have oatmeal.

  • Kristi Renout
    July 5, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    I like a nice bowl of cereal for breakfast.

  • lori b
    July 5, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    i like eating a hearty breakfast normally oatmeal

  • Anne Taylor
    July 5, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    Usually with baked oatmeal and fruit

  • Sunshine G
    July 5, 2014 at 4:59 pm

    Cheerios with sliced almonds, raisins, milk and raspberries – yum!

  • brittany doerfler
    July 6, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    with a protein shake

  • Victoria Ess
    July 6, 2014 at 8:46 pm

    I have toast with egg and a coffee.

  • Rebby
    July 7, 2014 at 4:59 am

    I have a good hearty healthy breakfast and a big cup of coffee!

  • ginette4
    July 7, 2014 at 10:00 am

    I don’t eat breakfast, cup of tea is how I refuel

  • Lisa L
    July 7, 2014 at 10:30 pm

    A berry smoothie!

  • Carol M (Lushka S)
    July 7, 2014 at 11:26 pm

    Some toast & eggs

  • Julie Bolduc
    July 8, 2014 at 10:48 am

    I make some eggs n toast

  • Courtney
    July 8, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    I stretch and hydrate

  • mongupp (@mongupp)
    July 8, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    My morning workout consists of getting ready for work and walking to my workplace!

  • Jana L.
    July 8, 2014 at 9:52 pm

    cereal, milk and fruit

  • Heidi Pawluk
    July 9, 2014 at 1:33 am

    An orange, cereal, toast & tea

  • Doug
    July 9, 2014 at 7:01 am

    I am here for the Multigrain cheerios and to surprise my wife with the win as we both use the large mixer to make smoothies.

  • Karine
    July 9, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    I eat a good bowl of cereal 🙂

  • Tina L.
    July 9, 2014 at 10:58 pm

    A bowl of cereal or oatmeal.

  • nicolthepickle
    July 10, 2014 at 8:22 am

    I don’t. I try to workout first thing in the morning.

  • Janie N @copperjane
    July 10, 2014 at 11:42 am

    I have unsweetened Silk with a Cheerios! & orange

  • Bailey Dexter
    July 11, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    First thing in the morning I drink a glass of V-8 juice!

  • JaimeeM
    July 12, 2014 at 9:27 pm

    Im a smoothie fanatic, so i guess that would be my fuel

  • eleanor
    July 13, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    I have breakfast such as cereal with milk and toast or yogurt.

  • melissa fowers
    July 14, 2014 at 7:23 am

    i love those Cheerios!

  • Deanna Barkley
    July 14, 2014 at 7:34 am

    I usually have a fruit smoothie with added protein powder.

  • Cathy C
    July 14, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    A piece of fruit like a banana but I should have something more before a workout!

  • Lisa @ Running to Bake
    July 14, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    I usually have piece of wholegrain toast with PB before I head out for my morning run!

  • scott markman
    July 15, 2014 at 10:22 am

    Red Bull & Vodka….jk. Just the Red Bull

  • MARG
    July 15, 2014 at 2:19 pm

    I am an old fashioned girl — porridge made from steel cut oats, added with yogurt; fruit; sunflower seeds, and some nuts. Usually some fruit juice too or water.

  • Amirah
    July 15, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    I fuel with a healthy breakfast and smoothie 🙂

  • Sunshine G
    July 16, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    A huge cup of tea and a big bowl of cereal!

  • CathyC
    July 17, 2014 at 5:10 pm

    I’m a fan of toast and peanut butter……and coffee 🙂

  • ivy pluchinsky
    July 18, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    I drink poweraid or gatoraid

  • Bons
    July 18, 2014 at 10:20 pm

    With a healthy breakfast (usually toast/cereals) and juice/milk/smoothies.

  • Josh S
    July 19, 2014 at 1:35 am

    I need to eat a good breakfast before any morning workout.

  • Suzie M
    July 19, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    I have a smoothie & a muffin (healthy one)

  • Bree
    July 20, 2014 at 6:36 pm

    cereal and fruit!

  • Sara rai
    July 20, 2014 at 11:52 pm

    Eggo and orange juice.

  • Ann W
    July 22, 2014 at 8:31 am

    A cuppa tea and a muffin

  • BobbiJo Pentney
    July 23, 2014 at 10:03 am

    I like to fuel my body with greek yogurt and cereal in the morning.

  • Tanis
    July 25, 2014 at 1:31 am

    Drink plenty of water and eat a banana!

  • Michelle james
    July 25, 2014 at 1:16 pm

    I take energybits before I run, 66% protein & provides energy so u dont have to eat b4 u workout.

  • Chris Stockford
    July 26, 2014 at 10:09 pm

    Drink lots of water!

  • Lisa L
    July 27, 2014 at 12:14 am

    A smoothie if I have time to make it, or just a banana~!

  • STUFF ME IN YOUR INBOX!

    Don't miss a single delicious recipe - sign up for real food recipes, challenging workouts + everything salads 4 lunch!